Choose Your Path

“It is not about what others are saying you to do, It’s about your inner voice that is making you do it,” said Pritesh to his brother Akhilesh, after 12th exam results.

“But I want to do something & I get distracted by other’s opinions,” replied Akhilesh.

“So how are you going to decide what you want to with your life?”

“I don’t know! After getting less marks which I never anticipated, I don’t know what to do.”

“It is not that you don’t know what to do, It is about you know what to do but you are not confident on your decision. You don’t want to make any decision, because you are afraid if things don’t work out. What if things happen that you could not anticipate, what are you going to do then?”

“Exactly Bro, that’s what I’m thinking.”

“It is absolutely fine. Because these grades do not teach you how to make decision in life & stay firm after making decisions. I told before that decide what you want to do & then take appropriate action. Because clarity will lead you to the success.”

“You are going to suggest any solution or you are going to keep blaming.”

“Alright! Let me tell you one thing! Whoever advises you to do any particular thing, do not listen to them. Because it is their point of view. It is not wrong to not to take other’s point of view into consideration, but when people tell you to do particular thing, it is not necessary it articulates your inner feelings & aspirations. Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam said in his book ‘Wings Of Fire’ that before choosing any specialization, you need to know whether it articulates your inner feelings & aspirations or not.”

“But I don’t know what my inner calling is. I thought about only two things, first engineering & second bachelor in computer science. Now I don’t qualify for engineering with these marks. So only one option is there.”

“Not necessary. Though you choose that option, whether you want to do it actually? Or you are taking this decision to anything to anyone.”

“No, I’m interested in hacking.”

“Do you know what is ethical hacking?”

“No! But I’ll know about it when I’ll get into it.”

“There you are. You knew that Mark Zuckerberg was hacker & he is getting a lot of glamour by founding ‘Facebook’, so you want to do the same, isn’t it?”

“No.”

“Then what interests you in hacking?”

“Hmm..”

“See, you’re thinking that much. It’s not your inner calling.”

“Don’t tell me about inner calling, I know what you do, only talking.”

“What? I’m trying to get your honest response & you are being arrogant to me.”

“Then! You can only talk about philosophical non-sense stuff, that’s what you do the best. That’s what your inner calling.”

“I’m trying to know your inner calling so that when you grow up & reach end of your life 7 think what I did in my life? Have I lived life? There will be two probable answers. First I always lived life on my terms, wow this is the life I ever wanted & second answer is I always did what was ideal not what was right for me according to me! And if second answer comes, the regrets will be so painful that can never be healed. The crazy fact is, you want advice from those who do not care about your individuality & trying to force their opinions on you.”

What do you think should Akhilesh do while choosing a career path? Please share your views to make a right decision for his life..

What Do You Think?

