The Destiny Does Not Spoon-Feed

ID-100361310

The elevator was taking too long to reach basement. I decided to take steps to reach my office on fourth floor. Climbing up two steps in a leap, I was thinking about where to start today’s work from. And I saw her as I reached the first floor. The thoughts about work disappeared as soon as thoughts about her beauty, her simplicity, and her genuine gaze awakened.

I saw her for the first time during interview rounds for the company I currently work for. At that time, I thought she was an employee. Her beauty diminished my nervousness though I was about to face CEO of the company in final interview round. I was determined to pass interview because I wanted to meet her. I passed the interview. But, I came to know that she applied for the same position. I got the job and she didn’t. Damn! I am not a sacrifice kind of guy who would have sacrificed a job for her. Nonetheless, I felt bad for her at that time.

I totally forgot about her till the time I noticed her on the floor while attending a call. It was a wrong number. I was gazing her by holding a phone on ear even after call ended. Suddenly I realized she was the one I saw during the interview round with CEO.
‘Yes, she was the one’, I affirmed myself.

I noticed a company’s name on belt of her I-card. The company was on same floor. I was delighted. Suddenly, my heart blossomed with an unexpected turn my life was taking.

‘Is she the one?’

The most stupid question I could ask myself. Being single for 23 years is not easy. The mind jumps to some crazy, strange conclusions without thinking much. Because, every time I see a couple laughing together, my heart aches. I imagine that one day I will be sharing the same moment. And this happens! I was happy that she got a job, but I was continuously pondering on something strange and irrational.

The fate. The destiny.

‘Are we meant to be together?’

‘This doesn’t mean anything!’

‘Or she is the one?’

‘Stop it! You are overthinking.’

‘Or is this an indication?’

On my way back to cubicle, every moment I told myself to be rational and consider it as a coincidence. But, I was rationalizing irrational thoughts, finding logic in illogical incidents, and finding sense in nonsense.

This day was the third time I saw her. I take elevator every day, but today was different. Is it the game of destiny to make us cross each other’s path? The first time I saw her, I thought she was an employee. Unknowingly, I was motivated to pass interview to see her more, to know her, and try to get close to her. A misinterpretation. The second time was about attending a wrong number. No sensible reason to cross paths. And third time was, changing my mind to take stairs. A different path from daily routine.

The events were suggesting that the destiny is making efforts to meet us. I couldn’t overlook these indications. Everything happens for a reason. I know it’s crazy, but my intuitions were making these calls. I may not be anyone for her. But, I know something was going on that was meant to be a huge part of my life, my journey. But it’s possible only if I make efforts to make it possible. The efforts have to supplement the call of destiny. The crazy fact is, the destiny doesn’t spoon-feed.

I was waiting on the floor on next day with a chocolate in my hand. I was prepared to interact with her. I knew she would come out of her office for no matter what reason at the time I would wait for her on floor. And I was right. She came out texting on her phone. She advanced towards the entrance of floor where I was waiting. I was about to say hello and I heard a familiar shout.

“Hey, wake up! Or I will miss the bus. Get up! You have to drop me. It’s already late,” my brother was screaming. I rubbed my eyes gently and realized this was a dream.

“I’m not coming,” I said in an exasperated voice, pulling blanket over my head.

“Ohkk, then I’ll take your bike and you go to office by bus,” he replied.

I had to wake up from that sweet dream.


 

(Image courtesy of nenetus at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

3 thoughts on “The Destiny Does Not Spoon-Feed

What Do You Think?

