The Story of New Hairstyle

IMG_20160412_165819399_HDR

I have always been fond of hairstyles, but never dared to get one. I held back myself from getting a hairstyle due to fear of ‘how I will look.’ This time, it was the occasion of convocation ceremony – an official way of university to allow us to explore new horizons. Sportsmen change hairstyles or go bald after winning major trophies. So, I thought I would do the same. The time was right to embody the spirit of new life with new hairstyle. The time was right to do things I have never done before. The time was right to take a leap, doesn’t matter it’s small or big. This new life will definitely ask something that I am unwilling to do, but have to do despite unknown outcomes.

Furthermore, I decided to go to a local hair salon, not to big name hair salon. The major reason behind going to local salon was related with current phase of my life. I graduated with engineering degree, but decided to pursue my dream of becoming a writer. I am amateur at writing. Barbers over there were not much experienced or amateur in doing trending hairstyles though they have been cutting hair for so long. Similarly, I have been writing from past three years and yes, I’m still an amateur. If I ask them I want a Tapered Undercut or High Fade With Medium Slicked Pomp, they won’t understand a word. They have to stretch themselves, read some hairstyle related magazines, or visit websites that provide information about trending hairstyles. In the same way, if I read ‘striving to obliterate excruciating memories is preposterous,’ then I won’t understand the meaning and I have to expand my vocabulary. I have to write more, hone my skills, and stretch my mind to get better.

I showed him a photo and asked whether he did this before. As expected, he said no, but affirmed he will try to do exactly as it was in the photo. I thought I should trust him considering his willingness to try. Similarly, a company gave me a job in writing and an opportunity to learn & develop skills considering my willingness to learn. He observed details in that photo and he did well. Not really good. But good. Same way I am doing right now with my writing skills. Not really good, but good.

And the crazy fact is, I know what this hairstyle is called as. It’s ‘Medium Fade with Medium Length Pompadour.’

What Do You Think?

