I Compare Myself With Others

id-10015601

I compare myself with others.
I feel jealousy, envy,
And sometimes self-pity.

No matter how much I try to avoid,
These thoughts, these feelings,
They appear into my mind.

Then I try to convince myself,
About my situation being different,
To make myself feel better.

And various reasoning and logic,
All feel good stuff I read,
But in the end, I fail to convince myself.

I think I can have,
What those people have,
Live the way, they are living.

I think I might have been in their shoes,
In their position,
If I was doing things differently.

I forget, every person has his own path,
A different and unique role to play,
His own destiny to fulfill.

Then I look back and realize,
Whatever I am at this moment,
Whoever I am at this moment.

It is due to whatever I have done,
Whatever I have gone through,
And whatever steps I have taken.

If I were in their shoes,
I would have not been where I am,
I would have not been who I am.

And the crazy fact,
I embrace myself as the way I am,
Wherever I am,
And whatever I am.


(Image courtesy of Danilo Rizzuti at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

What Do You Think?

